top of page
HB0558 Gender Studies.png

TAKE ACTION!

SB0484 Scroll to Bottom of this page

Dear RWBC members,  

 

As we enter the 2024 Legislative session, we will place the action items on this page and Facebook. Your calls and emails make a difference. The legislators listen to our voices, do not stay silent. If you would like to testify on a bill, it is easier than you think. First start with establishing a myMGA account, this sets you up to not only testify but also track bills as they move through the legislation process. Better yet, we can testify via Zoom, no need to drive to Annapolis.

Start here by setting up "myMGA" account: https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/mgawebsite/Account/Register

How to sign up to testify? Watch this short video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7HjZuoSDpo Another video by Kate Sullivan to walks through the process and answers more questions about the process of testifying in Annapolis. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rei9NVlKtsA&t=5s.  In addition, the Maryland Federation of Republican Women has weekly updates on upcoming bills during the legislative session. Follow the updates here: https://mfrw.org/

HB 202 Absentee Ballot Signature.png
HB0076 v.2.png
HB0436 Kids Voting.png
HB0333 Disinformation.png
Monochromatic New York City Lifestyle Quote Facebook Cover(1).png
SB0018 v.2.png
Blue and White Simple Minimalist National Rescue Dog Day Event Celebration Facebook Post.p
Monochromatic New York City Lifestyle Quote Facebook Cover(3).png

Copy/Paste for Bill HB0538 and SB0484
The Housing Expansion and Affordability Act

Copy and paste this letter  to send to all the representatives in the list below.

As a resident of Baltimore County and the State of Maryland, I strongly oppose SB484 and its cross-file, HB538. This legislation advocates for the development of excessively dense residential units in our suburban areas of Baltimore County and across Maryland.

 

The proposed bill would permit the construction of high-density affordable housing projects using state funds in local jurisdictions, disregarding necessary restrictions and limitations, thus circumventing the local Adequate Public Facilities Ordinance (APFO) laws. This poses a threat to the integrity of our communities by overcrowding schools, overburdening sewer systems, and exacerbating traffic congestion.

 

Local jurisdictions must retain autonomy in making decisions regarding housing density to ensure that our county's infrastructure can support growth sustainably. The state's imposition of increased housing density undermines the role of local government and deprives residents of meaningful input into their communities' development.

 

It is imperative that local elected officials retain the authority to regulate the density of future residential development, safeguarding the well-being and interests of our communities.

How to sign up to testify in Annapolis: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7HjZuoSDpo

To testify you MUST sign up on Thursday February 29 from 9:00am-6:00pm

Red Abstract Income Money YouTube Thumbnail.png

1. Please email the following people with your opposition:

 

         The Senate Energy, Education & Environment Committee

         The House Environment & Transportation Committee

         Johnny Olszewski-Baltimore County Executive: johnnyo@baltimorecountymd.gov

         President of MACO Michael Sanderson 410.269.0043 msanderson@mdcounties.org

         Your Local State Delegates & Senators

          (Email addresses below)

 

2. Consider testifying (in person or by zoom) at the Senate Committee hearing for SB484 this Friday March 1st at 9:00am. Must register by Thursday February 29 between 9-6pm.

House - Environment & Transportation Committee

(Marc.Korman@house.state.md.us; regina.boyce@house.state.md.us; jackie.addison@house.state.md.us; nick.allen@house.state.md.us; terry.baker@house.state.md.us; Barrie.Ciliberti@house.state.md.us; debra.davis@house.state.md.us; linda.foley@house.state.md.us; michele.guyton@house.state.md.us; anne.healey@house.state.md.us; marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us; jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us; mary.lehman@house.state.md.us; jeffrie.long@house.state.md.us; sara.love@house.state.md.us; todd.morgan@house.state.md.us; ryan.nawrocki@house.state.md.us; charles.otto@house.state.md.us; sheila.ruth@house.state.md.us; dana.stein@house.state.md.us; vaughn.stewart@house.state.md.us; jen.terrasa@house.state.md.us; natalie.ziegler@house.state.md.us)

Korman, Marc

Marc.Korman@house.state.md.us

410-841-3649

 

Boyce, Regina T.

regina.boyce@house.state.md.us

410-841-3476

 

Addison, Jackie

jackie.addison@house.state.md.us

410-841-3551

 

Allen, Nick

nick.allen@house.state.md.us

410-841-3365

 

Baker, Terry L.

terry.baker@house.state.md.us

410-841-3321

 

Ciliberti, Barrie S.

Barrie.Ciliberti@house.state.md.us

410-841-3080

 

Davis, Debra

debra.davis@house.state.md.us

 

410-841-3337 

Foley, Linda

linda.foley@house.state.md.us

410-841-3052

 

Guyton, Michele

michele.guyton@house.state.md.us

410-841-3793

 

Healey, Anne

anne.healey@house.state.md.us

410-841-3961

 

Holmes, Marvin E., Jr.

marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

410-841-3310

 

Jacobs, Jay A.

jay.jacobs@house.state.md.us

410-841-3449

 

Lehman, Mary A.

mary.lehman@house.state.md.us

410-841-3114

 

Long, Jeffrie E., Jr.

jeffrie.long@house.state.md.us

 

410-841-3398 

Love, Sara

sara.love@house.state.md.us

410-841-3454

 

Morgan, Todd B.

todd.morgan@house.state.md.us

 

410-841-3319 

Nawrocki, Ryan

ryan.nawrocki@house.state.md.us

410-841-3289

 

Otto, Charles J.

charles.otto@house.state.md.us

410-621-0200

 

Ruth, Sheila

sheila.ruth@house.state.md.us

410-841-3537

 

Stein, Dana

dana.stein@house.state.md.us

410-841-3527

 

Stewart, Vaughn

vaughn.stewart@house.state.md.us

 

410-841-3528 

Terrasa, Jen

jen.terrasa@house.state.md.us

410-841-3246

 

Ziegler, Natalie

natalie.ziegler@house.state.md.us

410-841-3352

 

 

Senate - Education, Energy, and the Environment Committee

(brian.feldman@senate.state.md.us; Cheryl.Kagan@senate.state.md.us; malcolm.augustine@senate.state.md.us; benjamin.brooks@senate.state.md.us; marybeth.carozza@senate.state.md.us; jason.gallion@senate.state.md.us; katiefry.hester@senate.state.md.us; karen.young@senate.state.md.us; bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us; mary.washington@senate.state.md.us; ron.watson@senate.state.md.us)

Senator Brian J. Feldman - Chair

brian.feldman@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3169

Senator Cheryl C. Kagan - Vice Chair

Cheryl.Kagan@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3134

Senator Malcolm Augustine

malcolm.augustine@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3745 

Brooks, Benjamin

benjamin.brooks@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3606

Co-signer of SB 484

Carozza, Mary Beth

marybeth.carozza@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3645

 Gallion, Jason C.

jason.gallion@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3603

Hester, Katie Fry

katiefry.hester@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3671

Lewis Young, Karen

karen.young@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3575

Simonaire, Bryan W.

bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3658

Washington, Mary

mary.washington@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3145

Watson, Ron

ron.watson@senate.state.md.us

410-841-3631

bottom of page